Licensing Commission


The Greater Lawrence Licensing Commission consisting of 3 persons, who shall not be engaged, directly or indirectly, in the manufacture or sale of alcoholic beverages, who have been residents of the City of Lawrence for at least two years immediately preceding their appointment. One member of the licensing board shall be designated as chairperson and will serve a 1 year term from the date of appointment, or until the expiration of his or her term on the board. One member shall be appointed from each of the two leading political parties and the third member may also be appointed from one of said parties. The terms of office of the members first appointed shall begin at the date of their appointment, and shall expire at the end of two, four or six years from the first Monday in June in the year of their appointment, the date of expiration to be specified in their respective commissions; and thereafter a member shall be appointed for a term of six years from the first Monday in June of the year in which the previous term expires. All members shall hold office until their respective successors are qualified. They may be removed by the mayor for cause, after charges preferred, reasonable notice thereof, and a hearing thereon; and In accordance with the provisions of chapter 138, section 6, of the General Laws.


Greater Lawrence Licensing Commission shall have the following responsibilities:

  • The chairperson shall preside at the meetings of the licensing board and shall act as the secretary of the board, as provided by Chapter 138, Section 6, of the General Laws.
  • The chairperson shall prepare all agendas and documentation required for all regular and special meetings of the licensing board, and shall coordinate enforcement actions with other city departments. The chairperson shall also prepare for the board the quarterly reports required by Chapter 138, Section 9, of the General Laws for submission to the mayor, and the annual report to the Alcoholic Beverage Commission as required by chapter 138, section 10A of the General Laws, and shall file copies of all said reports with the city clerk.


All members of boards, commissions, authorities, and committees of the city, whether appointed by the mayor or the city council, shall be residents of the city unless otherwise provided for in the General Laws or in the Municipal Code, with the exception that no more than three members of the airport commission may be nonresidents. All applicants must be residents of the City of Lawrence. Download the application (PDF). Boards and commissions applications are also available at the:

City of Lawrence
200 Common Street
3rd Floor
Lawrence, MA 01840


The deadline for applications is until selected and filled. Please send your application to the Mayor's Office. Said appointment is subject to the appointment of the Mayor Daniel Rivera and the confirmation of the Lawrence City Council. The City of Lawrence is an Equal Opportunity Employer.